Download 13
Total Views 42
File Size 151.33 KB
File Type pdf
Create Date June 28, 2017
Last Updated June 28, 2017



200 Year Anniversary

Garland Presbyterian Church


WHEREAS, the Garland Presbyterian Church is celebrating its 200th anniversary on June 17, 2017; and


WHEREAS, the church has played a prominent role in emphasizing civic engagement and community in Garland, Pennsylvania; and


WHEREAS, the nation has suffered from a decrease in community association with the rise of modern societal independence and technological advances; and


WHEREAS, civic organizations are becoming increasingly essential for the County in order to maintain values of community life and camaraderie; churches have played a significant role in this endeavor; and


WHEREAS, out of over 60 churches spread across the County, the Garland Presbyterian Church is the oldest congregation of its denomination; and


WHEREAS, they, as a civic organization, have been contributing to the good of their community by emphasizing a communal environment in Garland; they have put forth their effort into academic, occupational, and spiritual affairs for the good of the people; and


WHEREAS, the crime rate in Warren County, as a whole, is historically low in the state of Pennsylvania, and the number of overall crimes in Warren, Pennsylvania is less than the national average; and


WHEREAS, organizations like the Garland Presbyterian Church can be credited for this progress in helping our county be a healthy and safe environment by keeping its citizens engaged in its services; and


WHEREAS, we, the Warren County Commissioners, recognize the contributions made to the County by the Garland Presbyterian Church;


NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Warren County proclaims June 17, 2017 as a day of recognition for the Bi-Centennial of the Garland Presbyterian Church.


ADOPTED THIS 14th day of June, 2017.




Cindy Morrison


Benjamin Kafferlin

Attest:                                                                  Vice Chair


Pamela J. Matve                                                 Jeff Eggleston

Chief Clerk                                                          Secretary